SGM College Patan

About Sanstha

The Rayat Shikshan Sanstha is one of the largest and the leading educational institutes in India imparting education in different disciplines of Arts, Commerce, Science, Law, Engineering, Management etc. founded by the eminent educationist and social reformer, Late Padmabhushan Dr. Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil in the year 1919. It is recognized as the biggest educational institution in Asia in terms of both quality and quantity. It has been contributing immensely to educate the masses in the Maharashtra through 737 branches including 42 Colleges, 1 Research Institute, 451 Secondary Schools, 07 Training Colleges, 62 Primary Schools, 47 Pre-Primary Schools, 19 English Medium Schools, 91 Hostels, accommodating students from all walks of life, 07 Administrative Offices, 8 Residencial Schools, 03 I.T.I. and 57 Ancillary branches. The network of its branches has spread like branches of the banyan tree, the symbol of institution. It is spread over 14 districts of Maharashtra & 01 of Karnataka with 12909 employees and 4,42,011 students belonging to all religions, castes and creeds.

"Education through self-help" is the motto; 'education to all' is the goal and social justice, humanity, and equality are the ideologies cherished by the institution. Democratic and decentralized administration is the prominent feature of the institution for effective and efficient governance, leadership and management. The administrative structure of the institution consists of the General Body, the Managing Council, The Executive Council, and the Board of Life Members. Besides implementing policies, decisions and reforms the institution has appointed the Secretary, Joint Secretary (Higher & Secondary Education) and Regional Inspectors for five regions. The institution has a separate Audit Department headed by the Auditor who conducts audit and looks after the financial matters of the institution as a whole.

Considering the institution’s social commitment, contribution in the field of education and transformation of society with the downtrodden, underprivileged, disadvantaged and neglected masses deprived of education at the center, Government of India, State Government and various National & International organizations have honored the institution conferring the awards such as-

  • Bharatratna Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar National Award (1994)
  • Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Dalit-Mitra Award (1993-94)
  • Rajarshi Shahu Award (1999)
  • Adarsh Shikshan Sanstha Award (2001)
  • Shri Gadage Maharaj Seva Award (2002)
  • Shikshan Maharshi Panjabrao Upakhya Bhausaheb Deshmukh Memorial Award (2003)
  • Excellence in Education Award (2011)
  • Shahu, Phule, Ambedkar Award (2012-13)
  • Jivan Gaurav Award (2013-14)
  • Vatvruksha Shiv Award (2014-15).

With all this success and sense of social responsibility, the institution has successfully leading towards its centenary in 2019.For more details log on to